Reviews

CHATTERLEY HOUSE AND DH LAWRENCE.


Chatterley House is so named due to its close historical links with the famous author D.H. Lawrence, who was born just up the road.
In its former life the building has been a school and a hotel, then In 2014 this extensive property was converted into a very large family home by the current owners.
Three double en-suite double rooms with their own separate entrance are available in this very large Rural Family Property, and the current owners have opened up part of their extensive home to guests.

The property is well situated between the cities of Derby and Nottingham. There is a train station within a 5 minute walk, which takes 11 minutes direct into Nottingham City centre, with all the attractions such as the legend of Robin Hood and Nottingham Castle, plus the galleries of justice and Nottingham caves. Nottingham also has great night life, with many bars and restaurants to visit.
Derby City is only a 20 minute car or taxi journey, and we are well situated for plenty of 24 hr supermarkets, bars, fast food outlets and retail outlets such as Ikea, Next,Decathlon, Costa's, Pizza Express and Pappa John's pizza, Nando's, KFC, Mcdonalds (24hr opening), and more close by...

In this semi rural location, you can enjoy walks or cycle rides down the canal, and free use of our gym and full size table tennis table to keep adults or kids occupied during your stay.

The property is also on the edge of the Derbyshire countryside, with tourist towns such as Matlock and Buxton just 30-45 minutes drive away.

We also have a Breakfast/dining room that can be used by guests, containing microwave, kettle, fridge, washing machine, toaster and unlimited tea/coffee making facilities (Please see photo's).

Although please note that there are no cooking facilities and WE DO NOT provide English cooked breakfasts, we provide items within this kitchen area for guests use, such as cereals, toast, jam, eggs, tea, orange, coffee and milk that allow guests the flexibility to do their own breakfast as and when they require. We find that this offers more flexibility to guests, especially with young children, and makes a great place to eat food or takeaways, as it can seat up to 8 guests, and has a large TV with Netflix (allowing guests to log into their own account, plus multiple tv channels.

Guests have privacy with the ground floor east wing of the house having the bedrooms, dining room and gym/games room. This wing of the house has its own entrance for guests convenience and privacy.

Overnight work stop - Rating 5/5

Beautiful building, full amenities and a very clean comfortable room.

Reviewer:owen m | Wed 20th Nov 2019 | 11 hours ago


Great place & staff - Rating 5/5

Brilliant venue &staff, they were extremely helpful &accommodating, the hotel was very clean &comfortable, the rooms were spot on, the staff were absolutely brilliant it was a real pleasure to stay, I would highly recommend this place to anyone, thank you very much

Reviewer:Gareth P | Mon 18th Nov 2019 | 2 days ago


Brilliant stay. - Rating 5/5

I was only staying 1 night because I was attending the funeral and wake of an old friend. The owner kindly let me and another friend take our rooms early so that we could get ready. My room was lovely and clean with nice modern decor and bedding. There was a kettle with plenty of tea and coffee and a small kitchen/ dining area down the corridor with more if needed. Breakfast was self service with plenty of options of cereal, bread and eggs. I didn't make use of the small gym but it looked great with plenty of equipment. I'd also like to thank the owner for taking my friend and I to the venue for the wake because the weather was so bad that a lot of local roads were flooded. If I'm ever in the area again and need accommodation then I'd happily book again.

Reviewer:Stephen S | Sat 16th Nov 2019 | 4 days ago


Nice little hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely room and very pleasant staff and owners.Highly recommended

Reviewer:RICHARD W | Thu 7th Nov 2019 | 1 week ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable

Reviewer:Gillian C | Wed 6th Nov 2019 | 2 weeks ago


First Visit - Rating 4/5

Nice Welcome, comfy bed and very clean

Reviewer:SIMON H | Mon 4th Nov 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Excellent accommodation. - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation- everything new and great facilities to make own breakfast.Couple of things to improve a little:bath mat, as tiles bit cold in bath room;pillow a little hard;marmite portions would enhance the breakfast!Dog barking quite late 10.45pm.We will book again!

Reviewer:Diana P | Sun 3rd Nov 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Business trip - Rating 5/5

It was very pleasant very tidy and the room was very comfortable and You make me feel very welcome, I will Definitely use you again.Thank you.

Reviewer:Theresa T | Fri 1st Nov 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Very welcoming - Rating 5/5

Beautiful setting, lovely comfy rooms. Very welcoming hosts &rooms had all the facilities needed. Great location.

Reviewer:Zoe C | Tue 22nd Oct 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Great stay in convenient location- Rating 5/5

We were delighted with the kitchen that allowed us to use the facility in the evening of our arrival.The decor of the room was very chic and Jackie was very friendly and helpful.We would stay again.

Reviewer:Mark W | Sun 13th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Fantastic retreat - Rating 5/5

From the moment of arrival to leaving,the stay was fantastic, shown the room and breakfast room . Lovely room, ensuite with great shower. Lovely soft pillows, breakfast available on self serve so leaving at 5:30 am was possible to have fresh ground coffee and toast, will be back when have to work in Nottingham

Reviewer:Ian s | Sat 28th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Clean and friendly - Rating 5/5

Very nice accommodation. Friendly ownersComfortable and clean.

Reviewer:Paul T | Fri 27th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Business Trip - Rating 4/5

Very clean and comfortable with good facilities and free parking

Reviewer:Roger w | Fri 27th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Quick stayover - Rating 5/5

Top quality smart, ultra clean accommodation at a budget price.Very welcoming hosts and convenient with a self-service breakfast.

Reviewer:Ross J | Thu 26th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Clean and friendly work stop over- Rating 5/5

Very clean room and shower. Perfect for a work stop over and even better having a little gym. Breakfast was great with plenty of gluten free options and a well stocked kitchen. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Aimee B | Thu 12th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Lovely relaxed place to stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed here with our grown up children and were made to feel very welcome. The rooms were lovely and clean and modern and the breakfast set up where you helped yourself was brilliant because you didn’t have a set time to stick to. Will definitely be visiting again.

Reviewer:Lisa R | Mon 2nd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Great little find to break up the journey- Rating 5/5

Wonderful warm welcome and a beautifully clean convenient room. We wanted an overnight stay to break up a journey north and didn’t fancy the usual cheap chains. Chatterley House was perfect. Great value for money. Close to the M1. Comfortable bed, quiet room and great self serve breakfast that meant we could help ourselves and didn’t miss out despite our early morning start. We’d definitely go back.

Reviewer:Joanne C | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Brilliant hotel and lovely owners!- Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night over the bank holiday weekend, and it was lovely the en-suite in our room was great and the shower was big and spacious. All in all great value for money! Thank you so much for having us!

Reviewer:Carrie R | Tue 27th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Wonderfull place - Rating 5/5

Very very nice place, room extra comfortable, breakfast tasty and plantiful. Thanks a lot

Reviewer:Emiliano C | Tue 27th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


lovely stay- Rating 5/5

Stayed one night as a lone traveller, everything perfect, loved the set up, the kitchen area and gym, wish more places where like this thank you

Reviewer:Michelle O | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent facilities and lovely customer service comfortable room slept like a log

Reviewer:Grahame S | Sat 17th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Highly Recommended- Rating 5/5

Highly delighted with this beautiful, spotlessly clean accommodation.. The host is very friendly &helpful in any way possible..There is nothing any ever fault in this beautiful home &we will definitely be staying here again should we ever be located in the area. Definitely 10 out of 10.

Reviewer:Brenda P | Sun 11th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

We onlystayed the one night here but what a lovely hotel greeted at the door on arrival shown the room and facilities and lets us all local amenities where brilliant fantastic room with on suite breakfast room with continental breakfast set in a lovely location very quiet and peaceful will definitely recommend this hotel

Reviewer:William H | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Perfect stay for Nottingham - Rating 5/5

We love Chatterley House. It is the perfect stay if you want to be close to Nottingham and still have the pleasure of silence and a nice look put your window. The rooms are very new and nicely decorated and have everything you need. The beds were super comfortable. The hosts were really super friendly and helpful! At the house is a fully equiped gym which is very clean. The breakfast is provided next to the room and has everything you need. Definitely recommend the Bed and Brealfast!!

Reviewer:Ingrid R | Fri 26th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely place, room was comfortable so a good nights sleep was had, kitchen facilities were second to none, i especially like the grounds its set in, table tennis table was ace 👍 i shall be staying again this time ill bring the mrs

Reviewer:Richard L | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


One night stay - Rating 4/5

Overall my partner and I thought Chatterley House was a lovely place.I particularly liked the decor, cleanliness, and the freedom to come and go as we pleased.When we arrived we were shown around by a lovely lady who I think was called Tanya.Having run a B&B myself for 10 years I know only too well the work that goes into keeping an establishment running efficiently.If I had any suggestions - it would be lovely to have marmalade, tissues &shower caps available.

Reviewer:Shannon W | Tue 16th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Happy Stay!!! - Rating 5/5

Greeted by lovely people and made to feel welcome. Refreshing, gorgeous room &en suite, as opposed to usual dreary B &B decor. Love this place &would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Christine R | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Chatterly house - Rating 5/5

Thankyou for having us you have a luvly place here nice views and excellent hosts x

Reviewer:Jill B | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Business stay - Rating 5/5

very welcoming lovely place

Reviewer:Magdalena B | Sat 6th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Amazing place - Rating 5/5

Beautiful location, room was immaculately clean and the staff were incredible. Cannot fault the place and would highly recommend it.

Reviewer:William C | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Room - Rating 5/5

Lovely cosy room very clean

Reviewer:Belinder K | Thu 20th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Fantastic Stay! - Rating 5/5

Fantastic Stay, Clean, Welcoming hosts, perfect location. Looking forward to a return stay

Reviewer:Natalie C | Thu 20th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Comfortable - Rating 5/5

Relaxing stay. Pleasant owners. Nothing is too much trouble.

Reviewer:Clementina A | Sat 8th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


A lovely hotel - they’ve thought of everything! - Rating 5/5

This hotel was a lovely stay! We were greeted by one of the owners when we first arrived, and were shown the facilities. These included a gym room (with table tennis) and a breakfast room with a TV. The hosts had also put together a list of local restaurants, and have us directions on how to get there easily in the car. The hotel is in a great location with easy access to Nottingham centre by train and car.The room itself was spacious and comfortable, with a hairdryer and shampoo/shower gel bottles provided. There were also two large blankets provided and a huge TV, so we had everything we needed. The hotel was friendly and quiet at night. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is also worth mentioning that there were board games and sweets in the breakfast room (which you can access at any time), so I think this would be a great hotel for kids too.

Response

Thanks Alex - great to meet you both! we hope o see you again when you are in the area.RegardsRichard and Jackie

Reviewer:Alexandra T | Thu 6th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Great Place to stay - Rating 5/5

Me and my girlfriend stayed here at Chatterley House and was very impressed,the hosts were very welcoming,very clean rooms,great shower and would recommend staying here to anyone.We will be staying here again without any second thoughts.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael J | Tue 28th May 2019 | 5 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome and help with my luggage. Nice quiet location. Double room was small but had everything I needed.

Reviewer:Sarah A | Thu 23rd May 2019 | 6 months ago


Great stay.- Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay. Clean and beautiful location.

Reviewer:Haben G | Mon 20th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Chaterly House - Rating 4/5

Even though the room was small it was very clean and comfy. The breakfast was set up to allow self serve at your leasure. Omly issue was occassional noise of people walking on floor above.

Reviewer:Raymond H | Sat 11th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Great accommodation - Rating 5/5

A delightful room in a quiet location so near to the M1. We loved the Scandinavian 'feel' of the room and bathroom.Spotless!Breakfast was so convenient.A warm welcome.Safe parking.PSWas the heating on a timer?

Response

Hi Pamela - thanks for your kind comments - yes as the weather is getting better.RegardsRichard

Reviewer:Pamela J | Wed 8th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Little gem - Rating 5/5

Chatterley House is a little gem. Great location, easy to find, parking is right up to the entrance. Richard welcomed us as if we were long seen friends. The room was brilliant, comfortable, equiped with all the essentials. The bathroom was squeaky clean and a comfortable size. The kitchen offered a variety of breakfast that was also included in the price. Lovely place to say, I can only recommend it.

Reviewer:Judit Nyersne N | Tue 30th Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


3rd April sray - Rating 5/5

Hi Richard and Jackie thank you for a very enjoyable stay. The en-suite room was ideal and I loved the gym and kitchen. Would recommend to others.

Response

Thanks Tony - we look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.RegardsJackie

Reviewer:Tony M | Fri 5th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Book Online


Our Facilities


Contact Details

Chatterley House Short Stays Nottingham - Derby
Coronation Rd
Nottingham
Cossall
Nottinghamshire
NG16 2RU